Postcards: Bantayan Island

IMG_6040

IMG_6039

IMG_6063

IMG_6050

IMG_6068

IMG_6083

IMG_6084

IMG_6059

IMG_6058

IMG_6057

IMG_6090

IMG_6085

IMG_6101

IMG_6107

IMG_6123

IMG_6131

IMG_6147

IMG_6151

IMG_6158

IMG_6163

IMG_6168

IMG_6191

Just last Holy Week I’ve given the chance to witness the celebration of the Lenten Capital of Visayas, Bantayan Island and discover it myself. It was a rough and tough journey though I still manage to be there before the celebration started with all those fortuitous events happened. It all paid off witnessing the kind of celebration they had. Based on my research, chos! ;) thanks to my best friend google it is located 136 kilometers (85 miles) by road and sea from Cebu City. It has 3 municipalities Santa Fe, Bantayan and Madridejos and 25 barangay. Bantayan Island is the seafood basket of Visayas and Mindanao since they are rich in marine resources. And I was mesmerized myself as tourist who joined and observed their Holy Week celebration and never did a moment my lenses failed me. I was in big “ow!” seeing those life-sized images and icons mounted on carrozza (float) richly decorated and brightly illuminated that depict various tableaux of Christ Passion and Station of the cross.The crowd of devotees and tourist is not that I expected. It was a super-duper ΓΌber crowd :) They say that this is the only place in the Philippines (correct me if I’m wrong) that is allowed to eat meat based on the “Papal Indult” issued to the bantayanons. And who would have thought they still manage to celebrate it fabulously despite being affected by typhoon Yolanda, I truly believe it was their unfathomable faith and love for God who worked it out.

One thought on “Postcards: Bantayan Island

Leave a Reply

